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The long game of Pay-per-click advertising

Advertisers can see immediate revenue and impact from Search Engine Marketing (SEM), but there are long-term benefits too. Pay-per-click (PPC) ad campaigns can help you generate revenue for reinvestment, increase your website traffic, and build awareness for your brand—both immediately and over time.  

PPC has a long game, too

Businesses today have many digital marketing strategies to choose from. Some have an immediate impact, like email marketing. Others pay off in the long term, like Search Engine Optimization (SEO). A good SEM campaign does both.

The returns from PPC advertising can be quick. It’s easy to create your own ads and launch a campaign, and you can see the traffic coming to your site from your clicks as soon as the very first day.

But a good PPC strategy isn’t just a flash in the pan. If you do it right, PPC can be an investment in the lifespan of your business.

Generate revenue for reinvestment

No matter how well your business is doing, if you aren’t using search advertising, you are missing a piece of the pie. The revenue earned from PPC is often from new customers with high intent to purchase. Advertising on the Bing Network means tapping this revenue stream.

The best thing about increased revenue? You can put it back into your business. It’s easy to see how PPC dollars can pay off majorly over time.

If the average click costs you a dollar and earns you $1.50, after 100 clicks you’ve earned $50 of revenue. If you add that $50 to your original ad spend of $100, the next time you buy ads, you’ll get $75 of revenue. Progressively reinvesting in PPC over time allows you to grow your revenue exponentially.

Increase website traffic

If you offer a service or product people want, they’ll keep coming back to your business to find it. PPC helps them find it the first time.

New customers are the future of any business because they have the potential to become customers for life. In the digital era, most new customer relationships are formed online. Get customers “in the door” with PPC. You’ll see immediate benefits when they visit your site the first time, and long-term benefits from growing your customer base. You can even use tools like Remarketing to build profiles of the folks who visit your site and target tailored ads to them in the future.

Build awareness for your brand

Online advertising has given new meaning to the phrase “you are the company you keep.” Potential customers remember the ads they see for non-branded search queries. When you show up in search results on a regular basis for non-branded queries, your brand becomes associated with the answers or solutions people are looking for.

Bidding on non-branded queries pays off later in terms of brand awareness and increased conversions. It’s a great way to capture attention from your competition early in the user’s decision journey.

Growing brand awareness has a long-term ripple effect. As you expand into new circles and display your value, you will see word of mouth benefits. This can lead to more direct traffic and branded searches that will have a strong conversion rate.

Four Years of PPC

If you don’t believe how much an impact a long-term PPC strategy can have, just look at Bing Ads customer From You Flowers.

“Things started to add up: momentum, dollars, orders, revenue, brand experience, brand recognition,” says Michael Sabia, vice president of marketing for From You Flowers. “The snowball continued to grow, to a point where now here we are in 2016 having grown substantially year over year for four-and-a-half consecutive years—we're talking 40, 50, up to 60 percent growth year over year since 2011.”

From You Flowers has experienced the small business dream come true: sustainable, rapid growth year over year. Part of their success is rooted in their SEM campaign.

When Sabia joined the company, he says, “Bing Ads was a very small piece of the pie.” He knew that From You Flowers could be doing more to harness the power of search engine marketing, and he ramped up PPC efforts.

“All this company needed was dedication to growth efforts,” says Sabia, “leading with the direct marketing channels that drive most of the floral industry growth — which is paid search marketing.”

The numbers, as shared by the company, show how effective Bing Ads were in the short term and for the long haul.1

If you want to see the kind of growth Sabia and his team have enjoyed, make PPC part of your long-term marketing strategy.


SEM and PPC are a marketing channel proven to help businesses grow and reach new customers over time. If you want to understand more about how PPC fits into a digital marketing strategy check out The Small Business Owner's Guide to Search Engine Marketing.

1. You Flowers